Wrestlers compete in tournaments

Print Article

Plains/Hot Springs wrestling head coach Jeff Kujala encourages one of his grapplers during the Arlee Mixer earlier this season. (Joe Sova/Clark Fork Valley Press)

Plains/Hot Springs and Thompson Falls/Noxon wrestling teams both closed out pre-holiday action by competing in tournaments.

Thompson Falls/Noxon had the busiest week. The Blue Hawks competed in the Florence Quad on Tuesday, Dec. 18, then took part in the Mission Mountain Classic in St. Ignatius on Saturday, Dec. 21, hosted by Mission High School.

Plains/Hot Springs were on the mats for the Eureka Mixer on Friday, Dec. 21 before competing in the Buzz Lucey Invitational on Saturday, Dec. 22, also in Eureka.

The Vanderwall brothers, Josiah and Conrad, each won an individual title for Plains/Hot Springs at the Lucey Invite.

Josiah, at 138 pounds, pinned Thomas Peters of Columbia Falls in 3:03 in the semifinals, then stuck Colt Crawford of Arlee to the mat in 2:47 to win the championship match.

Conrad, at 132 pounds, won by fall in 1:40 over Vaughn Pendley of Flathead in his semifinal match. He won a 15-5 major decision over Braden Comer, also of Flathead, in the title match.

The Vanderwalls led the Savage Horsemen to sixth place in the tourney with 90 points. Flathead took the title with 164 points, followed by Whitefish, Polson, Eureka, Columbia Falls, Plains/Hot Springs, Arlee and Bigfork.

Plains/Hot Springs freshman Taylor Angle also had an excellent Lucey Invite, taking the second-place medal at 103 pounds. She pinned Braedon Iliff of Polson in 3:02 in the semifinals, but was pinned by Nathan Sproul of Whitefish in 1:10 in the championship match.

Peter Carey (120) of the Savage Horsemen squad lost a tight 7-5 decision to Dean Kellogg of Whitefish in the semifinals, then won his next two matches — pinning Kaleb Uhubottom of Flathead to earn the third-place medal.

Bert DeTienne (145), Jesse Uski (160), Kenzie Angle (138) and Stephen Yoder (285) each fell short of winning a medal in the Lucey Invite.

TRAE THILMONY and Roman Sparks each won their matches for Thompson Falls/Noxon at the Mission Mountain Classic, where no team scores were recorded.

Thilmony was victorious by a second-period fall, and Sparks won a 7-0 decision.

Records of other Blue Hawks at St. Ignatius: Shane Reishus (126) 1-1; Lucas Anderson (145) 1-2; Dane Chojnacky (160) 1-2; Dakota Irvine (182) 1-1 and (205) 1-0; and Seth Alarcon (285) 2-0.

At the Florence Mixer, going 2-0 were Thilmony, Sparks and Chojnacky. Anderson, Irvine and Alarcon were all 1-1.

Coming back from the holiday break, Thompson Falls/Noxon and Plains/Hot Springs teams compete in the Western Montana Duals in Ronon on Friday and Saturday, Jan. 4 and 5. Both Sanders County squads take part in the Superior Quad on Tuesday, Jan. 8.

Eureka — Saturday, Dec. 22

Teams Scores

1, Flathead (Fla) 164; 2, Whitefish (Wf) 132.5; 3, Polson (Pol) 131; 4, Eureka (Eur) 111; 5, Columbia Falls (CF) 94; 6, Plains/Hot Springs (Pla/HS) 90; 7, Arlee (Arl) 48; 8, Bigfork (Bf) 26.

Individual Results

103 – 2, Taylor Angle

Taylor Angle, Plains/HotSprings (2-1) – T.Angle 4:46 p. Asher Rice (Fla); T.Angle 3:02 p. Braedon Iliff (Pol); Nathan Sproul (Wf) 1:10 p. T.Angle.

120 – 3, Peter Carey

Peter Carey, Plains/HotSprings (2-1) – Dean Kellogg (Wf) 7-5 sv-1 Carey; Carey 3:36 p. Kellen Norman (Pol); (3rd place) Carey 1:30 p. Kaleb Rhubottom (Fla).

132 – 1, Conrad Vanderwall

Conrad Vanderwall, Plains/HotSprings (3-0) – C.Vanderwall 0:20 p. Tim Dicker (Fla); C.Vanderwall 1:40 p. Vaughn Pendley (Fla); (championship) C.Vanderwall 15-5 md. Braden Comer (Fla).

138 – 1, Josiah Vanderwall

Josiah Vanderwall, Plains/HotSprings (3-0) – J.Vanderwall 0:25 p. Eli Tidwell (Bf); J.Vanderwall 3:03 p. Thomas Peters (CF); (championship) J.Vanderwall 2:47 p. Colt Crawford (Arl).

Kenzie Angle, Plains/HotSprings (0-2) – Derek Knoll (Fla) 0:59 p. K.Angle; (cons. semi) Thomas Peters (CF) 0:58 p. K.Angle.

145 – Bert DeTienne, Plains/HotSprings (1-2) – CJ Morris (Fla) 2:30 p. DeTienne; DeTienne 0:42 p. Jeff Devlin (Pol); Chase Youso (Fla) 0:37 p. DeTienne.

160 – Jesse Uski, Plains/HotSprings (1-2) – Garrett Croft (Pol) 1:23 p. Uski; Uski 1:32 p. Johnny Fehr (Eur); Gavin Pilkington (Eur) 1:33 p. Uski.

285 – Steven Yother, Plains/HotSprings (0-2) – bye; (Qtrfinal) Taylor Gladeau (CF) 0:11 p. Yother; Bryce Stidham (Pol) 1:06 p. Yother.

St. Ignatius — Saturday, Dec. 22

No team scoring

Teams in attendance: Florence (Flo), Thompson Falls/Noxon (TF), Clark Fork (CF), Mission/Charlo (M/C).

103: Oliver Post (Flo) 1:23 p. Kody Dillard (M/C).

120: Trae Thilmony (TF) 3:19 p. Walker Murphy (M/C); Roman Sparks (TF) 7-0 d. Walker Murphy (M/C).

126: Walker Murphy (M/C) 0:38 p. Aaron Edens (Flo).

132: Shane Reishus (TF) 1:37 p. A.Edens (Flo); Wes Buchannen (CF) 1:55 p. S.Reishus (TF); W. Buchannen (CF) 0:34 p. Aaron Edens (Flo).

138: Cole Gilleard (M/C) p. W.Buchannen (CF).

145: Darwin Adams (M/C) 15-1 md. Lucas Anderson (TF); Caden Plasier (Flo) 1:15 p. Silas Acker (CF); Jon Chamberlin (Flo) 3:20 p. L.Anderson (TF); Cole Gilleard (M/C) 4:25 p. Hunter Haskins (CF); Darwin Adams (M/C) 1:49 p. Jake Calloway (CF); J.Chamberlin (Flo) 9-2 d. Isaiah Kovalsky (CF); H.Haskins (CF) 4:28 p. Zach Harrington (Flo); Darwin Adams (M/C) 2:52 p. Isaiah Kovalsky (CF); Z.Harrington (Flo) 0:58 p. S.Acker (CF); H.Haskins (CF) 18-14 d. C.Plasier (Flo); L.Anderson (TF) 3:30 p. C.Plasier (Flo).

152: Kayden Carter (M/C) 2:29 p. Greg Weingart (Flo); Isaac DuMontier (M/C) 17-0 tf. Thomas Anderson (CF); Isaac DuMontier (M/C) 0:24 p. Greg Weingart (Flo); Thomas Anderson (CF) 0:21 p. Kayden Carter (M/C); Silas Acker (CF) 0:54 p. Kayden Carter (M/C); Greg Weingart (Flo) forf. Ethan Diaz (M/C); Darwin Adams (M/C) 2:45 p. Thomas Anderson (CF).

160: Dane Chojnacky (TF) inj.def. Ethan Diaz (M/C); Isaac DuMontier (M/C)15-0 tf. Dane Chojnacky (TF); Ethan Diaz (M/C) 0:30 p. Daniel Shved (Flo); Avery Meinzen (Flo) 0:55 p. D.Chojnacky (TF).

170: Luke Maki (Flo) 17-16 d. Troy Matt (M/C); Zach Cather (Flo) 2:23 p. Troy Matt (M/C); Isaiah Allik (M/C) 0:43 p. Zach Cather (Flo); Luke Maki (Flo) 1:52 p. Jared Pallo (Flo); Troy Matt (M/C) 1:02 p. Jared Pallo (Flo); Isaiah Allik (M/C) 1:08 p. Jon Maki (Flo).

182: Dakota Irvine (TF) 1:23 p. Jared Pallo (Flo); Isaiah Allik (M/C) 4-3 d. Dakota Irvine (TF).

205: Dakota Irvine (TF) 1:54 p. Miles Anderson (M/C); Spencer Jones (Flo) 13-2 d. Miles Anderson (M/C).

285: Seth Alarcon (TF) 1:17 p. Omasti Foster (Flo); Seth Alarcon (TF) 1:29 p. Miles Anderson (M/C).

Print Article

Read More

Dr. Karen LaRoe, 74

June 25, 2019 at 9:37 am | Mineral Independent Dr. Karen LaRoe passed away on June 15, 2019. She was born on December 13, 1944, in her grandparent’s four-room farmhouse on Buck Creek, in Lawrence County, Ohio. Karen grew up as the cherished chil...


Read More

Victoria Wood Benefield

June 25, 2019 at 9:37 am | Clark Fork Valley Press Victoria Wood Benefield, 74, passed away Tuesday, June 18, 2019 at St. Joe’s Hospital in Lewiston, Idaho, after a five-year battle with Dementia and long-term diabetes. She was surrounded by her chil...


Read More

Darcy Rae Winston

June 25, 2019 at 9:37 am | Clark Fork Valley Press Darcy Rae Winston, 54, passed away on June 17, 2019, in Kalispell, Montana. Darcy was born May 20, 1965, in Atlantic, Iowa, to Jack and Emy Barringer. She attended elementary school in Atlantic and H...


Read More

Ricky Beason

June 25, 2019 at 9:37 am | Lake County Leader Ricky James Beason passed away on May 25, 2019, while holding Megan’s hand. He left this earth a broken man and is now whole. Rick is healthy, surfing, riding snowmobiles and horses in the playground...


Read More

Contact Us

(406) 826-3402
105 W. Lynch
P.O. Box 667
Plains, MT 59859

©2019 Clark Fork Valley Press | Mineral Independent Terms of Use Privacy Policy