Sunday, June 20, 2021

Big Sky Passenger Rail Authority adds another member

by Clark Fork Valley Press
| June 9, 2021 12:00 AM

The Big Sky Passenger Rail Authority (BSPRA) grew a bit larger this week when its board of directors approved Carbon County as the newest member of the Authority last Wednesday.

The addition of Carbon brings the number of counties that have joined Big Sky to 13, stretching across the state from Wibaux County on the North Dakota border to Sanders County on the Idaho border.

“Being a member of the Big Sky Passenger Rail Authority is a big deal for Carbon County, and we look forward to what it brings to citizens of our county,” Carbon County Commissioner Scott Miller said. “Montana is moving forward into the future, and Carbon County has to move with the state to bring the economy and infrastructure needed to support this and the next generation. We need Montanans to stay in Montana and good people to move in to help keep Montana alive.”

With the addition of Carbon County, the BSPRA will look to continue growing in the coming months. Other counties are currently considering petitioning the Authority for membership.

The BSPRA remains hopeful that eventually all the counties eligible to join the authority – both those along the former Amtrak North Coast Hiawatha route and those along the former passenger routes running south to Denver and Salt Lake City – will do so.

To join the BSPRA, a county commission must first adopt a resolution petitioning the Authority for membership, followed by the Authority adopting a resolution enlarging the boundaries of the Authority.

“With another county getting on board, the Authority continues to demonstrate the importance of passenger rail to the state of Montana and the ability of passenger rail to bridge partisan, ideological, geographic and urban-rural divides,” said Dave Strohmaier, BSPRA chair.

While only county commissions can adopt the joint resolution to join the authority, the BSPRA encourages the city and town councils, chambers of commerce, CVBs, business owners, and private citizens within eligible counties that have not yet joined to encourage their county commissioners to consider the requesting membership.

Eligible counties that have not yet joined the BSPRA include Custer, Rosebud, Treasure, Big Horn, Yellowstone, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, Madison, Beaverhead, Deer Lodge, Lewis and Clark, Lake, and Mineral counties.

“Carbon County is the first outside the 12 founding counties of the BSPRA to join it, and we are hopeful that their decision will spur other counties to make the move to join,” said BSPRA Vice Chair Jason Stuart, representative for Dawson County. “Our push to restore passenger rail service is not a ‘red versus blue,’ or a ‘conservative versus liberal,’ or a ‘rural versus urban’ issue, as evidenced by the political, social and economic diversity of the counties that make up the BSPRA. We hope other counties that have not yet joined recognize that and come to see the tremendous economic and social opportunities the successful restoration of passenger rail service would present for our communities.”

For more information, go to

BSPRA Members



Darrel Folkvord

Butte-Silver Bow


Shawn Fredrickson



Scott Miller


Economic Development

Council Director

Jason Stuart



Scott MacFarlane


Elena Gagliano


Whitehall Mayor

Mary Hensleigh



Dave Strohmaier



Bill Berg


Discover Deer Lodge

Terry Jennings



Deanna Bockness


Jerry McDonald



Edward Anderson

200 W. Broadway

Missoula, MT 59802


The BSPRA was formed in late 2020 under a Montana state law that allows counties to join together to form a regional rail authority for the purpose of advocating for passenger rail service. Each county that joins is allowed to appoint a representative to the BSPRA Board of Directors.

Including the addition of Carbon County, the other BSPRA members are Wibaux, Dawson, Prairie, Park, Gallatin, Broadwater, Jefferson, Butte-Silver Bow, Powell, Granite, Missoula and Sanders counties.