Monday, April 12, 2021

State champion Thilmony leads Sanders, Mineral county medalists

Clark Fork Valley Press/Mineral Independent | March 10, 2021 12:00 AM

Wrestlers from Sanders and Mineral counties enjoyed successful weekends at the Montana High School Association Class B-C state championships last weekend in Shelby.

Thompson Falls-Noxon had four medalists while Plains-Hot Springs had two and Clark Fork had one.

At 132 pounds, junior Blue Hawk Trae Thilmony beat Eureka’s Gunnar Smith, 7-4, for his second consecutive championship.

Smith was gunning for his fourth straight title, but Thilmony handed Smith his second of third defeats on the season, including one the weekend before last at the Western B-C divisional championship match, 12-10, in overtime.

Thilmony will set his sights on a third straight title next year. He was third as a freshman while battling an injury.

Joining Thilmony as medalists were 145-pounder Eli Ratliff, who was fourth, 160-pounder Max Hannum, who was fourth, and 182-pound Dane Chojnacky, who was fifth.

Plains-Hot Springs had two medalists in 120-pounder Drew Carey, who was sixth, and 126-pounder Peter Carey, who was fourth.

For the Clark Fork Mountain Cats, 120-pounder Decker Milender placed sixth. Senior teammate Hunter Haskins was 1-2 at states and finished 22-7.

Glasgow won the team title with 181 points. The Blue Hawks were ninth with 70. Plains-Hot Springs was 14th with 48.

Complete results are available at

Team scores: Glasgow 181, Huntley Project 151, Circle 96, Three Forks-Ennis 91, Fairfield-Augusta 78, Cut Bank 73, Eureka 72.5, Colstrip 72, Thompson Falls-Noxon 70, Jefferson 68, Malta 55.5, Columbus-Absarokee-Park City 55, Whtiehall 53.5, Plains-Hot Springs 48, Anaconda 44, Cascade 42, Conrad 41, Fort Benton-Big Sandy 40.5, Chinook 32, Simms 32, Florence-Carlton 31, Forsyth 30, Poplar 30, Red Lodge 27, Bigfork 23, Choteau 23, Broadus 20, Shepherd 20, White Sulphur Springs 20, Baker 18, Shelby 18, Superior-Alberton 16.


1st Place - Cooper Lane of Huntley Project (Worden)

2nd Place - Riley Devries of Red Lodge

3rd Place - Tugg Taylor of Circle

4th Place - Decker Milender of Superior/Alberton

5th Place - Jase Frederick of Poplar

6th Place - Drew Carey of Plains/Hot Springs

3rd Place Match

Tugg Taylor (Circle) 12-5, Jr. over Decker Milender (Superior/Alberton) 23-7, So. (Dec 6-0)

5th Place Match

Jase Frederick (Poplar) 20-7, Jr. over Drew Carey (Plains/Hot Springs) 13-7, Fr. (Dec 5-1)


Guaranteed Places

1st Place - Kyle Durden of Lincoln County (Eureka)

2nd Place - Miguel Ramos of Fairfield/Augusta

3rd Place - Krayle Stormer of Circle

4th Place - Peter Carey of Plains/Hot Springs

5th Place - Dayne Sullivan of Simms

6th Place - Cameron Mikes of Malta/Whitewater

3rd Place Match

Krayle Stormer (Circle) 32-3, Sr. over Peter Carey (Plains/Hot Springs) 18-5, Sr. (Dec 10-4)


Guaranteed Places

1st Place - Trae Thilmony of Thompson Falls / Noxon

2nd Place - Gunnar Smith of Lincoln County (Eureka)

3rd Place - Tommy Sawyer of Anaconda

4th Place - Bryson Bartelson of Circle

5th Place - Dawson Powers of Whitehall

6th Place - Tyler Niles of Shepherd

1st Place Match

Trae Thilmony (Thompson Falls / Noxon) 34-1, Jr. over Gunnar Smith (Lincoln County (Eureka)) 33-3, Sr. (Dec 7-4)


Guaranteed Places

1st Place - Zach Valdez of Colstrip

2nd Place - Canyon Casterline of Circle

3rd Place - Brady Ellison of Columbus/Absarokee/Park City

4th Place - Eli Ratliff of Thompson Falls / Noxon

5th Place - Mathew Larson of Cut Bank

6th Place - Devon Nesbitt of Glasgow

3rd Place Match

Brady Ellison (Columbus/Absarokee/Park City) 28-7, Jr. over Eli Ratliff (Thompson Falls / Noxon) 37-3, So. (Fall 3:52)


Guaranteed Places

1st Place - Coy Cohenour of Three Forks/Ennis

2nd Place - Wylee Lindeen of Huntley Project (Worden)

3rd Place - Camryn Mears of Malta/Whitewater

4th Place - Max Hannum of Thompson Falls / Noxon

5th Place - Miguel Perez of Fairfield/Augusta

6th Place - Damien Nesbitt of Glasgow

3rd Place Match

Camryn Mears (Malta/Whitewater) 27-9, So. over Max Hannum (Thompson Falls /Noxon) 32-9, Fr. (Fall 1:26)


Guaranteed Places

1st Place - Rylin Burns of Colstrip

2nd Place - Stran Selman of Huntley Project (Worden)

3rd Place - Cameron Brusven of Shelby

4th Place - Cooper Larson of Glasgow

5th Place - Dane Chojnacky of Thompson Falls / Noxon

6th Place - Mason Garfield of Wolf Point

5th Place Match

Dane Chojnacky (Thompson Falls / Noxon) 34-4, Sr. over Mason Garfield (Wolf Point) 14-8, Jr. (UTB 6-3)