Friday, May 24, 2024

CSKT members elect new Tribal Council

Hagadone News Network | January 3, 2024 12:00 AM

Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes members chose incumbent James “Bing” Matt as an at-large representative on the Tribal Council, returned Martin Charlo and Michael Dolson to their seats, and elected former councilman James Steele Jr. to represent St. Ignatius and newcomer Danielle Matt to represent Dixon. 

The election was held Dec. 16, and with certified results released Dec. 20. 

Final vote tallies are:

At-large: incumbent James “Bing” Matt, 658; incumbent Ellie Bundy, 437.

Dixon: Danielle Matt, 669; incumbent Terry Pitts, 405.

Hot Springs: Incumbent Michael Dolson, 558; Becky “Bink” O’Bennick Knapp, 531.

Pablo: Incumbent Martin Charlo, 604; Levi (Jerry) Hewankorn, 491.

St. Ignatius: James Steel Jr., 671; Jera Stewart, 420.

The five Tribal Council members whose positions are not up for election in this cycle are Chairman Tom McDonald, Vice Chair Len Twoteeth, Carole Lankford, Jennifer Finley and Jim Malatare.

Of the 10 council representatives, each is elected for a four-year term in a staggered election with five seats open every two years. In 2021, the Tribal Council established two at-large seats by reducing the number of representatives in the Arlee and Mission districts from two to one apiece.