Monday, May 27, 2024

Cleanup Day poster contest winners awarded

by TRACY SCOTT Valley Press
| May 15, 2024 12:00 AM

The Plains Cleanup Day Committee spent last Wednesday evening making final preparations for the upcoming Cleanup Day on May 18. 

The bulk of the meeting was spent judging the many posters submitted by students from Plains Elementary School. Committee members Lana Dicken, Deb Warren, Scott Johnson, Garrett Boon and Anita Marsh judged each carefully drawn and colored artwork submitted. The kindergarteners submitted 14 entries, 13 by the second and third-graders and 18 by grades four and five.

First place winners for each grade group received a $25 gift certificate with the runner up getting a $15 gift certificate. The winners of the fourth and fifth grade group, first place was David Raber with runner up Ryker Anderson. First place in the second and third grade group went to Bransen Fryxell, with runner up going to Auston Yoder. For kindergarten, first place went to Maggie Goodwin, with Malia Hart taking the runner up prize. 

All the posters will be on display at local businesses, the City Hall office, and Post Office. Awards were presented to the winning students on May 13. 

Several local businesses have contributed to the success of this year’s cleanup day. Studds donated several pairs of gloves and loaned out two weed eaters and an electric chain saw. McGowans and Henry and Laura Raber are donating food and services for the day. The Clark Fork Valley Hospital donated drinking water.

Thirteen projects are scheduled to be completed during the day which consist of mowing, trimming, collecting garbage and old appliances. Committee member Johnson said, “We are in desperate need of your backs to help.” 

Only 10 people, with five of those being committee members, and one group, from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, have signed up to help.

The last Clean Up Day committee meeting will be held Wednesday May 15 to assign helpers with projects.

    Winners of the Plains Cleanup poster contest: Malia Hart, Bransen Fryxell, Akustin Yoder, David Rarber and Ryker Anderson. Not pictured is Maggie Goodwin. (Tracy Scott/Valley Press)